top of page

The Hardest I've Ever Worked Was...

The hardest I’ve ever worked was right now. For once, I am not surrounded by sympathetic peers to understand my frustration if I don’t get immediate recognition or feel like I work my tail off to keep up with everyone else. I’m surrounded by professionals who have done the same thing and who are teaching me that an occasional gold star might be warranted, but never expected.

I’m learning that a pat on the back is not to be expected. What I do is not always going to be right the first time. There’s no half credit in the real-world. It’s all or nothing and if you get nothing, you have to try again. I’ve taken this in stride, but feel that many of my peers have yet to receive this valuable lesson. Everyone here works hard, which is why I try to work harder to stand out.

It doesn’t take 5 minutes to walk to and from work like it does school. School doesn’t expect you to dress well, to always be well-groomed or even showered that day to be frank. The professional world does. Therefore, your idea of a 40-hour work week becomes more than that as you take more time to get to and from work, cook your own meals, clean your own home, take care of (not) your own car (shoutout to the Rogue) and take additional hours of work outside of working hours to make sure that everything is perfect.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page