top of page

Welcome to my 2017 summer!

Hello and welcome!

This summer I am spending my time at Nissan North America's headquarters in Franklin, TN. Living only 18 minutes away in Nashville, I'll be spending 12 weeks as an intern for the vehicle connected services department working on marketing and operations for NissanConnect® and Infiniti InTouch®.

This summer, I'll be in the driver's seat of my internship steering my career forward. Working for an automotive company is something that I've wanted to do for my entire life, so I'm blessed to have this opportunity.

I'll be working on various projects which focus on NissanConnect® and Infiniti InTouch®. I've started a few, with many more coming soon. I'll keep my readers updated on what I'm working on.

Orientation was on Monday. This is where we learned about the organization, heard seminars on how to drive our career to success, got a tour of the largest auto factory in North America and picked up my complimentary Nissan demo vehicle which I will be driving for the entire summer.

Unfortunately, I don't have photos from the factory tour as they are not allowed. But what I can tell you was how my mind was blown. When I came into this, I imagined that the different parts of each car are put together in separate factories around the world and shipped here for final assembly. I was wrong. 40 ton rolls of steel are shipped in and all the other raw products are brought in as well. The steel is cut out to hood, door and side panel shapes. The other materials are stitched into leather seats, bumpers are molded from plastics and everything else is created and put on their respective Nissan or Infiniti vehicle. This facility builds 650,000 vehicles per year. The car line produces 3 different Nissan cars and the SUV line produces 3 different Nissan and Infiniti SUVs. The factory is the size of almost 150 football fields, is over a mile long and employs over 12,000. Some of these people are even the doctors and nurses that make up the small hospital onsite for employees and their families to use to visit their family doctors and fill prescriptions.

My office is 30 minutes away from the Smyrna plant in Franklin, TN. My department is on the 8th floor (beauty shots to come).

Lastly, everyone keeps asking about my demo car provided to me by Nissan. It is a 2017 Nissan Rogue SL, which is exactly what I was hoping for. Even more, it's blacked-out with tinted windows and dark rims. Inside is a panoramic sunroof and the NissanConnect® which I've been using this past week to get acquainted with the system and run some tests . It still doesn't even have 100 miles on the odometer.

Stay tuned, there's more to come.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page